Royal Sites of Ireland

New Website and Survey on the Royal Sites of Ireland

The royal sites of Ireland are six unique collectives of largely prehistoric monuments and sites associated in early medieval and medieval texts as the principal ancient sites of royal inauguration in Ireland. These sites of ceremony and assembly were also strongly linked to myth and legend.

Spread throughout the island, four of the sites represent the ancient Kingdoms of Ireland and its current provinces; Emain Macha/Navan Fort (Co. Armagh) in the north, Dun Ailline (Co. Kildare) in the east, Rathcroghan (Co. Roscommon) in the west, The Rock of Cashel (Co. Tipperary) in the south. Tara (Co Meath) in the Ancient fifth province of Midhe was the seat of the High Kings of Ireland. The Hill of Uisneach, here in Co. Westmeath, was the centre or ‘omphalos’ where the five kingdoms met.

The Royal Sites of Ireland were on the Tentative List for UNESCO World Heritage Sites in 2010. The Tentative List is being reviewed and the respective Local Authorities of Kildare, Roscommon, Tipperary, Meath, Westmeath and Armagh, Banbridge and Craigavon are currently in the process of making an application to be included on the revised list. Securing a place on the Tentative List is the first step in the process of consideration for nomination as a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

A new dedicated website has been launched with information and updates about the Tentative List application process. Local communities and anyone interested in the process are invited to complete the survey, which is hosted on the website. Please complete the survey by the end of May.