book awards

21 May 2024
Michel Déon Prize 2024 shortlist

The Michel Déon Prize was founded in 2018 in memory of the French writer Michel Déon (1919-2016) who made the West of Ireland his home. It is a joint prize awarded in alternate years by the Royal Irish Academy in Ireland (funded by the Department of Foreign Affairs) and the Académie française in France. The winning author […]

Read More
14 September 2022
2022 James Cropper Wainwright Prize

The winners of the three categories of the 2022 James Cropper Wainwright Prize were announced at a ceremony at the London Wetland Centre on the evening of Wednesday the 7th September. The winners are: For Nature WritingGoshawk Summer: The Diary of an Extraordinary Season in the Forest by James Aldred (Elliott & Thompson). For Writing on […]

Read More
20 July 2021
Arthur C Clarke Award

The shortlist for this year's Arthur C. Clarke Award has been announced, and the titles up for consideration are The Infinite - Patience Agbabi (Canongate)Search the catalogue : Download the ebook/eAudio The Vanished Birds – Simon Jimenez (Titan)Search the catalogue : Download the ebook/eAudio Vagabonds – Hao Jingfang (Head of Zeus)Search the catalogue : Download […]

Read More
21 April 2021
Wolfson History Prize shortlist 2021

Do you enjoy reading non-fiction books? Is history your favourite topic to delve into? In that case maybe the shortlist of this year's Wolfson History Prize will provide you with some new and engaging reading. This prize has been awarded annually for more than 40 years and recognises and celebrates books which combine excellence in […]

Read More
16 April 2021
2021 Hugo finalists

The Hugo awards celebrate the world of science fiction and fantasy. Every year they are awarded at a convention that travels the world. Anyone who signs up to attend the yearly convention is a member and can nominate and vote on the winners. This year's nominees in have just been announced, Due to the current […]

Read More
14 April 2021
2020 John McGahern Book Prize shortlist

Three authors have been shortlisted for this year's John McGahern Book Prize for debut Irish Fiction. Niamh Campbell for This Happy Cathy Sweeney for Modern Times Hilary Fannin for The Weight of Love (Borrow ebook) Under the current Covid-19 restrictions public libraries in Ireland are closed, but once we reopen you can request these titles […]

Read More